Skip to main content

Green Building Advisory Committee

The Green Building Advisory Committee was established to provide advice and recommendations to GSA’s Office of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings, as required by the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA), in order to accelerate the transformation of the Federal building portfolio to sustainable technologies and practices.

The Designated Federal Official for this Advisory Committee is Ken Sandler in GSA’s Office of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings.


The Green Building Advisory Committee’s membership reflects a broad range of stakeholders including senior officials from Federal agencies as well as leading green building experts from state, local, private, non-governmental, and academic sectors. The original members of the Committee follow:

Member Organization
Bob Fox Cook + Fox Architects
Eric Beightel U.S. Department of Transportation
Cynthia Cordova Department of Veterans Affairs
Angela Donatelli Office of Management and Budget
Hunter Fanney National Institute of Standards and Technology
Will Garvey Council on Environmental Quality
Bucky Green U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Jonathan Herz U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Nick Sinai Office of Science and Technology Policy
Maureen Sullivan U.S. Department of Defense
Timothy Unruh U.S. Department of Energy
Zaida Basora Dallas Public Works Department
Dan Burgoyne California Department of General Services
Michael Deane Turner Construction Company
Projjal Dutta New York State Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Greg Kats Capital – E / Good Energies
Nico Kienzl Atelier Ten
Dennis Maloskey Pennsylvania Governor’s Green Government Council
Barbara Nadel Barbara Nadel Architects
Victor Olgyay Rocky Mountain Institute
Kent Peterson P2S Engineering
Dr. Esther Sternberg University of Arizona College of Medicine
Patrick Tyrrell Vornado Realty Trust




Ken Sandler
(202) 219-1121

Office of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings