GSA, BLM Share “Green Dream Team” Award


(Photo Caption: From left, Kim Harriz (BLM), Pat Russell (BLM), Council on Environmental Quality Managing Director Christy Goldfuss, Gerald Russell (BLM), Katie Chang (DOI), and GSA Chief Sustainability Officer Kevin Kampschroer with the “Green Dream Team” award presented to BLM and GSA.)

On November 23, the White House awarded CEQ, Bureau of Land Management (BLM), and other occupants of GSA’s Edith Green-Wendell Wyatt (EGWW) Federal Building in Portland, Oregon the 2015 “Green Dream Team” award for exceptional leadership by an interagency green team. The GreenGov Presidential Awards celebrate federal civilian and military personnel, teams, projects, facilities, and programs that exemplify President Obama’s charge to lead by example in the pursuit of President Obama’s Federal Sustainability goals.

On November 30, GSA Chief Sustainability Officer Kevin Kampschroer joined BLM and DOI leaders and Pat Russell, the EGWW Green Team lead, in accepting the award. Over the summer of 2013, fifteen federal agencies moved into the newly renovated, LEED Platinum EGWW building. After GSA’s renovation, EGWW is in the top tier of high-performance federal buildings with an Energy Star score of 97 out of 100, a 60 percent reduction in potable water use, 30 percent reduction in energy use, and 30 percent of remaining energy generated from an on-site photovoltaic (PV) system.

Soon after moving in, GSA Property Manager Howard Schaffer worked with Pat Russell of BLM to start the EGWW Green Team, with a mission to work with tenants to make them “LEED Platinum employees” worthy of the new building, while also demonstrating and involving the surrounding community in sustainable building practices. To that end, the Green Team initiated composting and recycling programs, and developed a community outreach program to bring in student interns and give tours to local school children and Scout groups to teach them about sustainable design.

GSA salutes the Edith Green-Wendell Wyatt Green Team, the other 2015 GreenGov awardees, and all the GSA and federal employees working daily to make the federal government more sustainable. In the words of Federal Chief Sustainability Officer Christine Harada at the awards ceremony— each one of these employees is a national treasure and a “leader by example”!

Last Reviewed: 2019-07-23