About Security & Protection Category

The Security and Protection category is one of the 10 common categories of spend under GSA’s Category Management initiative and is a Tier 2 contracting vehicle in the Spend Under Management model. This Category, as defined by the Office of Management and Budget and the Category Management Leadership Council, represents $5.5 Billion in annual spend and includes three (3) key subcategories:

These subcategories encompass a broad array of goods and services supporting the government’s Security and Protection requirements.

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has assumed the role of Security and Protection Category Manager, bringing forth extensive knowledge in security and protection requirements, strategic sourcing solutions, and the application of category management principles. The goal of the Security and Protection Category is to deliver the best value in security solutions to the federal market, while balancing the need for increased customer service, risk reduction, and posturing for the next-generation of enhancements and innovations.

GSA Solutions within this category includes Multiple Award Schedule 84 |Total Solutions for Law Enforcement, Security, Facilities Management, Fire Rescue, Clothing, Marine Craft and Emergency/Disaster Response.

All solutions for Security and Protection can be found on the Acquisition Gateway, an interactive tool built by GSA. The Acquisition Gateway helps federal acquisition professionals learn, connect, and act to acquire products and services efficiently and effectively. Upon entering the Acquisition Gateway, select the “Security & Protection” Hallway to find solutions related to your needs, including:

  • Expert articles;
  • User guides; and
  • Training documents.
Last Reviewed: 2018-11-29