Federal Acquisition Workforce

Role of the Workforce in Emergency Preparation and Response

The acquisition workforce supports emergency responses under the National Response Framework. The NRF establishes a coordinated, unified response among federal, tribal, state, local agencies as well as non-governmental and volunteer entities who play key roles in preparing for and relief from disasters and emergencies. The acquisition workforce needs to be mindful that the NRF assigns federal agencies the following Emergency Support Functions:

ESF #1: Transportation
Primary Agency: Dept of Transportation

ESF#2: Communication
Primary Agency: Dept of Homeland Security/National Protection and Program/Cybersecurity and Communication/National Communication Systems

ESF #3: Public Works and Engineering
Dept of Defense/ Army Corps of Engineers

ESF#4: Firefighting
Dept of Agriculture/Forest Service

ESF #5: Emergency Management

ESF #6: Mass Care, Emergency Assistance, Housing and Human Services

ESF #7: Logistic Management and Resource Support
General Services Administration
Federal Emergency Management Agency

ESF#8: Public Health and Medical Services
Dept of Human Health Services

ESF #9: Search and Rescue
DHS/ Coast Guard
Dept of Interior/National Park Service
Dept of Defense

ESF#10 Oil and Hazardous Materials Response
Primary Agencies: EPA
DHS/Coast Guard

ESF#11 Agriculture and Natural Resources
Primary Agencies: Dept of Agriculture
Dept of Interior

ESF#12 Energy
Primary Agency: Dept of Energy

ESF #13 Public Safety and Security
Primary Agency: Dept of Justice

ESF #14 Long Term Community Recovery
Primary Agencies: USDA, DHS, HUD, SBA

ESF #15 External Affairs
Primary Agencies: DHS/ FEMA

Before responding to emergencies, the acquisition workforce should understand the roles and responsibilities for each lead agency to avoid unnecessary duplication of effort.

Last Reviewed: 2022-04-15