Gold Standard Certificate

The Federal Aviation Gold Standard Program is a voluntary self-certification program intended to recognize agencies who have met aviation safety requirements. To encourage a positive change in aviation safety, GSA and the Interagency Committee for Aviation Policy (ICAP) award the Gold Standard Certificate. Anyone applying for a Federal Aviation Award must first obtain the Gold Standard Certificate.


To receive a Gold Standard Certificate, an agency must verify that it:

  • adheres to the Federal Management Regulations Part 102-33 (FMR)
  • has an operations manual
  • has a maintenance manual (or its equivalent)
  • has a training program
  • runs a safety program
  • has a survey program
  • has a safety data collection program

Agencies who meet all of these requirements are eligible for Gold Standard Certification. To apply, agencies should review the Gold Standard Certificate Overview [DOC - 70 KB] , and complete the Gold Standard Application Form [DOC - 70 KB] and mail it to:

U.S. General Services Administration
MAA Aviation Policy
1800 F Street, NW
Washington, DC 20405

Last Reviewed: 2019-10-16