This is archived information. It may contain outdated contact names, telephone numbers, Web links, or other information. For up-to-date information visit pages by topic or contact our Office of Public Affairs at For a list of public affairs officers by beat, visit the GSA Newsroom.

Swett Named to National Architectural Selection and Review Team

GSA # 9817

April 24, 2001
Contact: Viki Reath (202) 501-1231

WASHINGTON, D.C.-- Richard N. Swett, U.S. Ambassador to Denmark, has been appointed by the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) to its National Register of Peer Professionals for a two-year term. Peers on the National Register help GSA select architects for Federal design commissions and review the design quality of all GSA construction projects.

"We are honored to be able to benefit from Ambassador Swett's extensive design knowledge and experience," said Paul Chistolini, Acting Commissioner of the GSA Public Buildings Service.

Ambassador Swett emphasized the cultural importance of public buildings.

"Our public buildings are a part of our nation's legacy," said Swett. "The GSA has recognized that public buildings are more than simply mortar and steel. They're integral parts of our communities. I look forward to working with my colleagues to ensure the highest standards of design are met for our public structures."

Swett was one of 90 U.S. design experts chosen as peers, based on their expertise in design for the particular type of architectural project under consideration. The goal of the National Register is to find the right architects for GSA commissions and help critique the design to ensure the highest quality public buildings in communities across the United States.

Trained as an architect, and active in the American Institute of Architects, Swett is an expert on public policies guiding federal design and construction. A native of Bow, New Hampshire, he was appointed by President Clinton to serve as U.S. Ambassador to Denmark in 1998. He served in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1991 to 1995, representing New Hampshire's Second Congressional District.

Last Reviewed 2010-04-30