This is archived information. It may contain outdated contact names, telephone numbers, Web links, or other information. For up-to-date information visit pages by topic or contact our Office of Public Affairs at For a list of public affairs officers by beat, visit the GSA Newsroom.

Awards for Excellence Highlight GSA/FTS Conference

GSA # 9810

April 4, 2001
Contact: Bill Bearden, (202) 501-1231

WASHINGTON, DC - The U.S. General Services Administration's Federal Technology Service (FTS) held a Network Services Awards Program today at its annual GSA/FTS Network Services Conference.

The Interagency Management Council (IMC) initiated the Awards Program in 1993. The program recognizes those individuals and groups who -- in their use of FTS services -- have improved the quality and cost-effectiveness of telecommunication services for their agency.

The Network Services Awards Program is an important part of the annual GSA/FTS Network Services Conference. "Over the years, the FTS network conferences have served as an economical and effective way to raise and resolve issues, share lessons learned, and plan for the future," said Sandra Bates, FTS Commissioner. "It is also a great opportunity to discuss new ideas with our government customers and industry partners and to recognize those that have made exceptional contributions."

The Executive Excellence Award was presented to Robert P. Bubniak of the Department of Veterans' Affairs for his exemplary leadership of the federal telecommunications community during a period of challenge and uncertainty. The award is given for sustained contributions to the FTS program in a senior management or leadership role. Mr. Bubniak led the IMC during the time when federal agencies were deeply immersed in the transition from the FTS2000 to the FTS2001 long-distance telecommunications contracts.

Other awards included: Management/Administrative Excellence, Technical Excellence, Cost Effectiveness, and Small Agency. The Management/Administrative Excellence awards are given for significant achievement in acquisition or management of telecommunication systems and networks. Individuals and groups with noteworthy accomplishments in support of FTS networks or projects, training, procurement, policy or other areas are considered for this award.

Recipients of the Technical Excellence awards have made innovative uses of FTS services in a large network or provision of other telecommunications services. They have provided technically superior network design, conversion or implementations through the use of FTS services. For significant achievement in improving the cost effectiveness of agency networks or systems through use of FTS services, the Cost Effectiveness award is given. Awardees in this category have significantly reduced costs in agency systems through the use of FTS.

The Small Agency Award is given to an independent agency of 6,000, or fewer, full-time employees for significant achievement in the use of FTS to further small agency missions/goals. This year the award went to the Call Center Development Team of the Federal Trade Commission. The team was recognized for the implementation of a call center using FTS2001 services that supports the law enforcement efforts of over 250 federal, state, local, and international agencies.

Last Reviewed 2016-06-06