This is archived information. It may contain outdated contact names, telephone numbers, Web links, or other information. For up-to-date information visit pages by topic or contact our Office of Public Affairs at For a list of public affairs officers by beat, visit the GSA Newsroom.

GSA Announces 1998 Design Award Winners

GSA #9541

December 7, 1998
Contact: April Kaufman
(202) 501-1231

WASHINGTON, DC - The new Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC, a border station in Washington state, and a courthouse in Oregon are among the buildings, artwork, and graphic design that have won the U.S. General Services Administration's (GSA) 1998 Design Awards, announced GSA Administrator David J. Barram.

Barram said that the winners, representing 23 projects nationwide, were selected by a ten-member jury chaired by architect Robert A. M. Stern, of Robert A. M. Stern Architects, New York. The projects represent excellence in architecture, art, engineering, graphic design, landscape and urban planning, historic preservation, interior design, and workplace environment.

"While we want our facilities to be safe, functional, and cost-effective, we also want them to be empowering and stimulating for Federal employees and the public they serve," Barram said.

"GSA has returned to the tradition, started by Washington and Jefferson, bringing the Federal government to the forefront of design excellence, creating landmark Federal buildings that enhance their communities and bring the people and their government closer together," said Robert A. Peck, Commissioner of GSA's Public Buildings Service.

The winning entries in the biennial competition were selected from more than 145 projects nationwide. Six of the projects received honor awards; the others won citations. The awards program recognizes the collaboration between private sector design professionals and GSA to deliver projects of exceptional quality. The designers will be recognized at a March 25 ceremony at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC.

Honor Award Winners

* Pei Cobb Freed and Partners for the design of the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, DC. The design fits into the urban context of Washington and the Federal Triangle of the
nation's capital. The design merges traditional and contemporary themes both on the exterior and the interior to express a timeless quality of permanence and stature.

* Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates PC and BOORA Architects, Inc. for the design of the Mark O. Hatfield U.S. Courthouse in Portland, Oregon. The design achieves the goal of putting a modern, state-of-the-art building in the dense municipal core of downtown Portland. The asymmetrical, yet balanced, structure speaks to the language of courthouse in a refreshingly contemporary way.

* Tobey + Davis / Davis, Brody, Bond for the design of the U. S. Bureau of the Census National Data Processing Center in Bowie, Maryland. This elegant and transparent structure marries the poetic and subtle role of technology and detail.

* The Miller/Hull Partnership for the design of the Point Roberts Border Station in Pt. Roberts, Washington. David Miller's design at this border crossing is contextual with its surroundings, contemporary in its expression, and welcoming in its message.

* Mayer/Reed's signage for the Mark Hatfield United States Courthouse in Portland, Oregon reflects the tradition and dignity of the judiciary while working within the context of a modernist building and the electronic information age.

* Rick Helf's commemorative book, The United States Court of Appeals Building for the Ninth Circuit, celebrates the history and rebirth of this American treasure designed in the 1890s by James Knox Taylor.

Projects Winning Citations

* Skidmore Owings and Merrill for the design of the Robert C. Byrd U. S. Courthouse in Charleston, WV.
* Ray Kaskey for the boundary markers at the National Building Museum, Washington, DC.
* James Carpenter Design Studio Lens Ceiling proposal for the U. S. Courthouse and Federal Building in Phoenix, AZ.
* Diana K. Moore for the sculpture at the Warren B. Rudman, Jr. Federal Courthouse in Concord, NH.
* David Wilson for the architectural glass at the Robert C. Byrd Courthouse in Charleston, WV.
* Stephen Robin for his sculpture at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center, Washington, DC.
* Barbara Chase-Riboud for the sculpture at the African Burial Ground, 290 Broadway, New York City, NY.
* Leers Weinzapfel Associates Architects, Inc. for restoration of the Edward Gignoux Federal Courthouse, Portland, ME.
* Richard Meier for the design of the U. S. Courthouse and Federal Building in Islip, NY.

* Kliment Halsband Architects for the renovation of and addition to the U. S. Post Office and Courthouse in Brooklyn, NY.
* Bohlin Cywinski Jackson for the design of the William J. Nealon Federal Building and U. S. Courthouse in Scranton, PA.
* Martha Schwartz, Inc. for landscape design at the Jacob Javits Federal Building in New York City, NY.
* Beyer Blinder Belle Architects for the Governors Island Land Use Study, New York Harbor, New York City, NY.
* Sorg and Associates for the Urban Design Guidelines for the Physical Perimeter and Entrance Security for the Federal Triangle, Washington, DC.
* Jean Tullier for the design of the 30th Anniversary of the Architectural Barriers Act brochure.
* Ove Arup and Partners for the engineering and environmental study for the U. S. Courthouse and Federal Building in Phoenix, AZ.
* McKay Lodge Fine Arts Conservation Laboratory, Inc. the restoration of Alexander Calder's "Flamingo" at the John C. Kluczynski Federal Building in Chicago, IL.

GSA, in cooperation with the National Endowment for the Arts, assembled a jury of nationally recognized design professionals. Serving on the jury with chairman Stern were: William Hellmuth, Hellmuth Obata Kassabaum, Washington, DC; Allison Williams, Ai, San Francisco; Garth Rockcastle, Meyer Scherer and Rockcastle, Minneapolis; Charles Durrett, Space For Children, Berkeley; Arthur Gensler, Gensler Associates, San Francisco; Tom Moran, New Jersey Arts Council, Trenton; Pamela Hawkes, Ann Beha and Associates, Boston; Admiral Fred Kelley, Daniel Mann Johnson Mendenhall, Arlington; and Leslie Gallery-Dilworth, Society of Environmental Graphic Design, Philadelphia.

Last Reviewed 2010-04-30