National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act (NHLPA)

The National Historic Lighthouse Preservation Act of 2000 provides an opportunity for the preservation of federally-owned historic light stations. The NHLPA program is a partnership among the United States Coast Guard; National Park Service, Department of Interior; U.S. General Services Administration and new stewards. The NHLPA recognizes the cultural, recreational, and educational value associated with historic light stations by allowing these national treasures to be transferred at no cost to federal agencies, state and local governments, nonprofit corporations, educational and community development organizations. 

Each year, GSA issues Notices of Availability for historic light stations available for transfer and works with the USCG to arrange inspections at the properties. In addition, GSA initiates, develops, and executes conveyance documents. In the event that no steward is recommended to receive the historic light station, GSA will sell the property in accordance with procedures outlined in the NHLPA. You can learn more about which lighthouses are currently available and all processes and procedures for eligibility through the Office of Real Property Utilization & Disposal Resource Center.

GSA's New England Region Real Property Utilization and Disposal Division supports NHLPA in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, Vermont, U.S. Virgin Islands and Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and Wisconsin.

Everyone Loves a Lighthouse

This year, GSA is offering seven lighthouses to the general public through an online auction. Proceeds from the public sales go back to the USCG's active Aids to Navigation Program, which will continue to serve local maritime communities after the historic structures have been conveyed.

GSA also has two lighthouses that are available for stewardship via the NHLPA. 

To date, GSA has conveyed 121 lighthouses - 68 stewards and 53 sales. 

Lighthouses Under NHLPA for Sale via Online Auction Point of Contact
Greens Ledge Light, Connecticut
Penfield Reef Light, Connecticut
Southwest Ledge Light, Connecticut
White Shoal Light, Michigan
Gray’s Reef Light, Michigan
North Manitou Shoal Light, Michigan
Minneapolis Shoal Light, Michigan


Lighthouses Available for Stewardship via NHLPA Point of Contact
Milwaukee Pierhead Light, Wisconsin
Superior Entry South Breakwater Light, Wisconsin


Last Reviewed 2016-07-19