FY 2019 Per Diem Highlights

GSA establishes the per diem rates for the lower 48 Continental United States (CONUS), which are the maximum allowances that federal employees are reimbursed for expenses incurred while on official travel.

The CONUS per diem rate for an area is actually three allowances: the lodging allowance, the meals allowance and the incidental expense allowance. Most of the CONUS (approximately 2600 counties) are covered by the standard CONUS per diem rate of $149 ($94 lodging, $55 meals and incidental expenses). In fiscal year (FY) 2019, there are 325 Non-Standard Areas (NSAs) that have per diem rates higher than the standard CONUS rate.

Since FY 2005, NSA rates have been based on Average Daily Rate (ADR) data from the lodging industry, which GSA obtains through a contract with a leading provider of lodging industry data. For more about how per diem rates are determined, visit Factors Influencing Lodging Rates. The ADR is a widely accepted lodging-industry measure based upon a property's room rental revenue divided by the number of rooms rented as reported by the hotel property to the contractor. This calculation provides GSA with the average rate in a given area.

As in previous years, GSA still uses:

  • Only "fire safe" properties; GSA is required by law to use only properties that are certified as being in compliance with the Hotel & Motel Fire Safety Act of 1990.
  • Properties that fall within the mid-price range.
  • Data from the prior 12-month period. For FY 2019, this is from April 2017 through March 2018;
  • Business travel week data (Monday through Thursday).

Agencies are reminded that the Federal Travel Regulation allows for actual expense reimbursement when per diem rates are insufficient to meet necessary expenses. Please see FTR §301-11.300 through 306 for more information.

FY 2019 Results:

Marietta, GA (Cobb County) is a new NSA location this year.

In FY 2019, the following locations that were NSAs (or in an established NSA in the case of individual counties) in FY 2018 will move into the standard CONUS rate category:

Shelby County, AL
Little Rock, AR
Kings County, CA
Bond/Calhoun/Clinton/Jersey/Macoupin/Madison/Monroe Counties, IL
Plaquemines/St. Bernard Parishes, LA
Leelanau County, MI
Crawford/Franklin/Jefferson/Lincoln/Warren/Washington Counties, MO
Butte, MT
Glendive/Sidney, MT
Williston, ND
Sullivan County, NH
Las Cruces, NM
Seneca/Tioga Counties, NY
Huron/Darke Counties, OH
Washington County, RI
Butte/Mead Counties, SD
Greene County, VA
Warrenton, VA
Franklin/Addison Counties, VT
Wheeling, WV
Uinta County, WY
print Share Icon Last Reviewed: 2018-10-16