San Antonio Courthouse Receives Construction Awards

San Antonio Federal Courthouse
New federal courthouse in downtown San Antonio stands 3 stories and includes a 235,000-square-foot building with 8 courtrooms and 13 chambers

Congratulations to our Greater Southwest Region for the San Antonio U.S. Courthouse receiving Honors in Capital Projects, in DEIA/Community Engagement, and in Use of Technology! General Services Administration’s Construction Awards celebrate top-notch achievements in construction. Winners showcase quality, sustainability, innovation, and more! From small repairs to capital projects, we honor excellence and best value.

The John H. Wood, Jr. U.S. Courthouse in San Antonio, TX was originally constructed as the U.S. Pavilion for the 1968 World’s HemisFair. In 1974, it was renovated to house the federal courts and court related functions. Over the years, the courts expanded to occupy several facilities around the San Antonio area. This original courthouse didn’t allow for the space the U.S. Courts needed to be efficient long term.

“We are proud to partner with our colleagues in the Judicial Branch, Congress, and leaders in the San Antonio community to build this state-of-the-art facility,” said Giancarlo Brizzi, GSA Public Buildings Service Regional Commissioner.  “PBS is thrilled with the outcome of the project, including it being completed ahead of schedule and under budget. We are fortunate to have an amazing GSA team.” 

The new courthouse provided the space needed for consolidation as well as upgraded design and security requirements. Tenants include the U.S District Courts, U.S. Clerk of the Court for the Western District of Texas, U.S. Magistrate Courts, U.S. Probation and Pretrial Services, Federal Public Defender, U.S. Court of Appeals, U.S. Marshals, U.S. Attorneys, and GSA.  The courthouse includes a total of 8 courtrooms and 13 chambers. 

For more information about all the GSA Construction Awards:

Seven individuals pose for a photo with award certificates.
Greater Southwest Region representatives smile as they accept the well-deserved awards on Feb. 28, 2024.