Federal Aviation Safety Officer (ASO) Training

The Interagency Committee for Aviation Policy (ICAP) recognizes Aviation Safety Officers (ASOs) who aim to affect a positive change. Under this program, ICAP will issue a Certificate of Training to any ASO who completes voluntary, in-classroom training.

In order to qualify, ASOs must complete at least 24 hours of in-classroom training from trusted organizations such as the Transportation Safety Institute (TSI) or other recommended institutions. The course must be relevant to a safety officer’s job and improve his or her performance.

ASOs must receive training on all of the following topics:

  • Basic Aviation Accident Investigation
  • Human Factors
  • Risk Management
  • Aviation Safety Program Management
  • Legal Aspects of Aviation

Getting Certified
After training, ASOs can send both documentation of their coursework and a completed Application for ICAP Safety Officer Certificate [DOC - 30 KB] to:

Office of Aviation Safety
Attn: Aviation Safety Program Manager, Michael Miles
1800 F. Street, NW
Washington, DC 20405

Once approved, the applicant will receive an ASO Certification acknowledging his or her dedication to a safer aviation environment.

Maintaining a Certification
To maintain an active ASO Certification, aviation safety officers must complete an additional 16 hours of safety training every two years, and reapply for certification.

To get started, download the Application for ICAP Safety Officer Certificate [DOC - 30 KB]

print Share Icon Last Reviewed: 2019-10-16