Office of the Administrator Overview

The U.S. General Services Administration was established on July 1, 1949, when President Harry S. Truman signed the Federal Property and Administrative Services Act into law.

GSA is headed by an administrator appointed by the president and confirmed by Congress.

The administrator of General Services oversees a federal agency of approximately 11,600 people and an annual budget of approximately $16 billion. The GSA administrator heads one of three central management agencies in the federal government.

The administrator and the immediate management team are headquartered in GSA’s national office in Washington, DC. GSA also has 11 regional offices in Boston, MA; New York, NY; Philadelphia, PA; Atlanta, GA; Chicago, IL; Kansas City, MO; Fort Worth, TX; Denver, CO; San Francisco, CA; Auburn, WA.; and Washington, DC.

print Share Icon Last Reviewed 2017-11-07