Federal Vehicle Standards

image of several cars and a screenshot of Autochoice site

The Federal Vehicle Standards classifies various types and sizes of commercially available vehicles, and establishes minimum technical, quality, and optional equipment specifications.

The standards ensure vehicles purchased by GSA are:

  • Safe;
  • Durable;
  • Economical; and
  • Provide uniformity in the acquisition process.

These standards are developed by GSA and are published annually to cover current model year vehicles.

The Federal Vehicle Standards are posted for comments from interested parties for approximately 45 days during certain parts of the year as part of the annual development, coordination, and maintenance of the standards.

The shortcut to this page is gsa.gov/vehiclestandards.

Last Reviewed: 2020-05-14