The Centers of Excellence

Our Mission

The Centers of Excellence (CoE) accelerate IT modernization by leveraging private sector innovation and government services while centralizing best practices and expertise. IT modernization is one of the three key drivers of reform in the President’s Management Agenda and is an important priority for GSA.

The CoE, a signature White House initiative, were designed by the Office of American Innovation (OAI), and implemented at GSA in October 2017, within the Technology Transformation Services (TTS) office. The CoE use IT modernization as a means to improve government services.

The CoE value industry as an important partner in our work and seek to partner with industry to take what’s been done in the private sector and apply it to, or replicate it in, government. Our phases of work are performed by a mix of federal employees and strategy and integration firms.

Want to join our team? Please contact our Talent Team at

Our Values

  • Know our customer—Understanding and anticipating the needs of our customers is our highest priority. Speaking with customers and regularly gathering their insights allows agencies to rethink the way they deliver technology solutions today.
  • Innovate from within—There is a lot of great technical talent across the government; we strive to identify those innovators and harness their experience in the CoE.
  • Collaborate for success—The CoE recruit the best and brightest from our customer’s workforce to co-lead modernization efforts and ensure success, and longevity, beyond CoE engagements.
  • Rely on best practices—We also partner with the private sector to implement the latest technology, use commercial practices, accelerate modernization, and avoid common pitfalls.
  • Centralize our resources—By standing up the CoE we strive to centralize and share the brightest talent, proven processes, and acquisition vehicles to yield the best results across government.

What We Deliver

Currently operating at the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), are five centers, each focused on a specific (but interconnected) area of transformation:

  • Artificial Intelligence—Accelerates adoption of artificial intelligence to discover insights at machine speed
  • Cloud Adoption—Analyzes current systems and applications to provide recommendations for planning cloud migration.
  • Contact Center—Helps improve contact center delivery services and customer interactions.
  • Customer Experience—Works to develop a better understanding of customer needs and helps translate those findings into actions.
  • Data and Analytics—Helps make more efficient use of data management, analysis, and reporting capabilities.
  • Infrastructure Optimization—Assists in optimizing data centers and reducing infrastructure costs.

Learn more about us on our site or on Twitter.

Last Reviewed: 2020-02-20