Federal Aviation Awards

GSA and the Interagency Committee for Aviation Policy (ICAP) proudly sponsored the Annual Federal Aviation Awards ceremony on Thursday, September 22, 2016. The award ceremony was held at the Helicopter Association International Headquarters located in Alexandria, Va. The awards recognize leading agencies for their superior aviation programs and professional management.

Federal Aviation Awards go to agencies that have demonstrated how their outstanding flight programs supported the success of the agency's mission. An independent panel of aviation experts judge agencies based on the agencies’ outstanding achievements in aircraft administration, operations, maintenance, training, and safety. In addition, ICAP honors individual star performers in both management and operational support roles.

Each year, GSA honors one winner in each of the following award categories:

  • Large Aviation Program (21 or more aircraft and Commercial Aviation Services (CAS))
  • Small Aviation Program (20 or fewer aircraft and CAS, as applicable)
  • Aviation Professional in a Managerial/Official Position
  • Aviation Professional in an Operational/Support Position
  • Aviation Professional in an Aviation Safety Position

The 2016 award winners are:

  • Department of State-Bureau of International Narcotics and Law Enforcement Affairs Office of Aviation ( Large Aviation)
  • Department of Justice-Justice Prisoner and Alien Transportation System (JPATS) (Small Aviation)
  • Mr. James Smolka, NASA (Aviation Professional in a Managerial/Official Position)
  • Mr. Richard Deagle, DOJ JPATS (Aviation Professional in Operational/Support)
  • Mr. Michael Dudzinski, DOJ JPATS (Aviation Professional in Aviation Safety)

In order to nominate a program or individual for the Federal Aviation Awards, your agency must hold or apply for and receive, a (current) Gold Standard Certificate.

Nominations for the 2017 Annual Federal Aviation Awards will be accepted no later than July, 1 2017.

Submit a Nomination

The shortcut for this page is www.gsa.gov/federalaviationawards.

Last Reviewed: 2020-06-24