Green Building Advisory Committee

The Green Building Advisory Committee (GBAC) provides independent policy advice and recommendations to GSA's Office of Federal High-Performance Buildings, as required by the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007 (EISA), to advance federal building innovations in planning, design, and operations to reduce costs, enable agency missions, enhance human health and performance, and minimize environmental impacts.

The Designated Federal Official for this Advisory Committee is Ken Sandler in GSA's Office of Federal High-Performance Buildings.


The Green Building Advisory Committee's membership reflects a broad range of stakeholders including senior officials from Federal agencies as well as leading high-performance building experts from state, local, private, non-governmental, and academic sectors. The members of the Committee include:

Committee Membership Member Organization
Chair David Kaneda IDeAs Consulting
Federal Nicolas Baker Council on Environmental Quality
Dr. Andrew Persily National Institute of Standards and Technology
Vacant Office of Management and Budget
Dr. Costa Samaras Office of Science & Technology Policy
Vacant U.S. Department of Defense
Scott Whiteford U.S. Department of Energy
Gopinath Boray U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Mary Sprague U.S. Department of Transportation
John Park U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Conan Wilson U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Non-Federal Fernando Arias Clark Construction
Kevin Bates Sharp Development Company
Ralph DiNola New Buildings Institute
Projjal Dutta New York State Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Dr. Whitney Austin Gray International WELL Building Institute
David Kaneda IDeAs Consulting
Clay Nesler World Resources Institute
Victor Olgyay Rocky Mountain Institute
Kent Peterson P2S Engineering
Jane Rohde JSR Associates
Dr. Sarah Slaughter Built Environment Coalition
Dr. Timothy Unruh National Association of Energy Service Companies
Last Reviewed: 2022-07-12