GSA Blog

GSA Blog Logo
GSA Blog: Personal Property Achievement Awards

Final call for entries: GSA achievement awards for innovation in personal property management

| GSA Office of Asset and Transportation Management Policy
Post filed in: Awards

GSA recognizes achievement for innovation in personal property management. Do you have a project that might be eligible? The 2021 call for entries is currently underway and closes July 2.

The Office of Asset and Transportation Management Policy, under GSA’s Office of Government-wide Policy, annually awards the Miles Romney Achievement Award and the Gold Star Award for Excellence. These awards recognize best practices, innovation and successful initiatives implemented to improve personal property management at the federal level.

The Miles Romney Achievement Award recognizes:

  • innovative personal property management practices,
  • new property management practices that maximize the reuse of government assets, and 
  • improvements to current property disposition processes.

The award is dedicated to public servant Miles Quinton Romney, who served 41 years with the Committee on Government Operations in the U.S. House of Representatives. He set a record on Capitol Hill for years served by a staff member and was widely recognized for his work with GSA in property management. He was instrumental in drafting the 1949 Property Act, which is the foundation for property management.

Previous award winners include the Department of Defense's Defense Reutilization and Marketing Service (DRMS) for developing a webpage that allows DRMS to manage its inventory more effectively, maximize reuse of excess property, and make excess property the first source of supply in the DOD; and the Social Security’s Office of Media and Logistics Management’s Personal Property Team for their outstanding efforts in reusing, donating, and recycling 2,700 pieces of excess furniture and equipment.

The Gold Star Award for Excellence recognizes a federal agency’s innovative implementation of Executive Order 12999, which permits agencies to transfer excess computers to schools or non-profit educational organizations. The award encourages agencies to share their cost-effective or streamlined practices or policies that have improved access to computer technology in America’s classrooms. Additionally, the award encourages agencies to assist in teachers’ professional development and help connect classrooms to the World Wide Web.

Previous award winners include the National Institutes of Health’s Division of Logistics Services, which has annually donated nearly 7,500 computers or related equipment to over 300 schools and non-profit educational organizations.